As Human Beings, We Can Do So Much For One Another

Today, I was grocery shopping in my local, friendly neighborhood Food Lion, browsing in the produce section, searching for new fruits and veggies to try experience, when a man, maybe in his early 50s, wandered over and straight up stated, ‘I’m not trying to hit on you, but I just wanted to let you know I think you’re a very pretty young woman.’

I’ve had people hit on me and make it obvious. I’ve had people hit on me and attempt to make it not obvious. So I knew right away he wasn’t creeping–instead, he offered a random, heartfelt compliment which has made my day.

I feel good 🙂

But through that one interaction I’ve realized, as human beings, we can do so much to help one another. In the smallest of gestures, in the biggest of ways.

That man’s one compliment has uplifted my spirits, and I smiled and walked with a new spring in my step because of it.

I don’t think people understand how much they can alter another’s day, or even life.

I work at a place where I sit, clean up a gym, sit some more, interact with older citizens, and offer them towels. Last week I told a woman who was checking in how much I envied her shirt, and we talked about where she bought it from (India–woah) for around 30 minutes, at which point she explained she needed to pick her husband up but had enjoyed our convo and hoped to have another soon.

I think I brought something new and inspiring to her day, just through a simple remark of what she was wearing.

Several times when I’m out running on my neighborhood, I see the local plantation’s security roaming or radaring (uh-oh!), and they always wave at me as I pass by, with one even giving me a thumbs up and saying, ‘Keep at it.’

As Human beings, we can do so much, and it takes so little. Being there for a friend when they’re a little down, whether after a breakup or bad day on the job. Being patient with a customer on the phone. Saying ‘hello’ as you walk past someone. Simply offering a smile.

Don’t be afraid to express your humanity. It’s all we’ll ever be equal of, and it’s what connects us more than anything.

So I dare anyone reading this to go out and compliment another person. Because who knows, you might make their day! In the words of Shia LaBouf, ‘Just do it!’…Yes, I know that doesn’t sound appropriate. But seriously…just go do it.

image

image

image

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “As Human Beings, We Can Do So Much For One Another

  1. Great post! I’m glad I wasn’t drinking water when I read the Shia LeBouf quote 😀 I was caught off guard

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Michael's Origins and commented:
    What a simple compliment to another human being can do for another by lifting their spirits to putting a smile on their face. Random acts of human kindness.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Our Nontraditional Family and commented:
    Beautiful, thanks for sharing and uplifting my day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful post! And loved the quotes 😉

    Have a nice day!
    ~Arcane Owl

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

